Attachment: Jade Tetsubo

Previews for the new base set (Crab or not) go here!

Attachment: Jade Tetsubo

Postby Hiruma Eshru » Thu Apr 27, 2017 6:44 am

Clan: Crab
Fate cost: 2
Military Skill: +3
Political Skill: +0
Jade • Weapon
Restricted (No more than two restricted attachments er character)
Action: While attached character is participating in a conflict, bow this attachment, choose a participating character with lower military skill - return all fate on the character to its owner's fate pool.
Probable deck-building cross-faction cost: 2

This card interests me a lot. Is the pool it is returned to the active one? If so it hurts the card a bit as an offensive weapon, but the potential to open up fate off your own guys to spend on stuff in battle (at the cost of them not being around next turn) is cool, if not at all thematic or sensible for a tetsubo. So odds are it isn't active pool, and you're getting delayed removal which isn't ideal but isn't bad either.
Hιrµмα Σsнrµ
Crαβ Clαη º Kolατ º Soµl of Σsнrµ º Cʒ мod º βoS º Dεrαιlεr of τнrεαds º Fαllεη
User avatar
Hiruma Eshru
Naga, Please!
 
Posts: 2781
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: Attachment: Jade Tetsubo

Postby Dirty Yasuki » Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:14 am

Per the recent "Building a Dynasty" article assigning Fate tokens for a personality starts before a battle, so this card is good for removing personalities with high-fate, albeit a delayed removal. It's still pretty darned good from that perspective.
Image
Image
User avatar
Dirty Yasuki
Kami
 
Posts: 2608
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: The Mouth of Hell (Philippines)

Re: Attachment: Jade Tetsubo

Postby Hiruma Eshru » Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:26 am

Yes, but playing some event cards cost fate, and if the removed fate is usable, then it is less good. But as most removal seems to be limited by the target's base fate cost and this isn't, it could prove useful indeed.
Hιrµмα Σsнrµ
Crαβ Clαη º Kolατ º Soµl of Σsнrµ º Cʒ мod º βoS º Dεrαιlεr of τнrεαds º Fαllεη
User avatar
Hiruma Eshru
Naga, Please!
 
Posts: 2781
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: Attachment: Jade Tetsubo

Postby Dirty Yasuki » Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:34 am

I wouldn't worry as much that they can use the Fate points later after a battle. Ensuring that a guy the opponent heavily invested in will be removed by the end of their turn is probably more advantageous for me than worrying what else he can play with those fate points.
Image
Image
User avatar
Dirty Yasuki
Kami
 
Posts: 2608
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: The Mouth of Hell (Philippines)

Re: Attachment: Jade Tetsubo

Postby Hida Okie » Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:33 pm

I am pretty sure we will see removal based off of fate cost (which we have on at least one personality already) and might see it target the fate of a character, like "Target a character with less than x fate counters". If we were to see a mass removal, I find it likely to target only cards with no fate remaining. Pure speculation, mind, but the tetsubo might have added value from other cards. Already, I like it, but I might like it even more.
Image
User avatar
Hida Okie
Nikutai
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 1:22 pm

Re: Attachment: Jade Tetsubo

Postby Kaiu Genji » Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:46 pm

Potentially redeems its fate cost by countering the fate put onto a character.

Giving it back to the opponent to play for Conflict cards seems bad though.
Owner of the Crab Clan Catastrophe * The Dynasty
If you have L5R CCG rules questions, ask them unofficially in the Rules and Questions forum or officially ask them here!
Shawn Carman wrote:Those gods are bitches, man.

Hida Kojuro wrote: We are Crab. We have more force than you. Good luck stopping us. :HIDA:

Image
User avatar
Kaiu Genji
Traveling Crab
 
Posts: 3013
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:06 am
Location: Chi-town

Re: Attachment: Jade Tetsubo

Postby Mirith » Fri May 05, 2017 4:24 pm

Kaiu Genji wrote:Potentially redeems its fate cost by countering the fate put onto a character.

Giving it back to the opponent to play for Conflict cards seems bad though.

However, removing a powerful political unique might be worth it for the next turn.
Champion of Fudo
Mirith
Shireikan
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:35 pm


Return to The New Empire (FFG LCG Base Set)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron